Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve been promising my co-workers a special treat for a few weeks now, so I thought what better way to end a great weekend, than with a “happy,” as one of my friends likes to say. The cupcakes were pretty easy to make, and I even got to make good use of a few of my favorite kitchen gadgets from our wedding registry – which I just realized was created more than half a decade ago. (HOLY MOLY, where does the time go?!)

BEFORE:

Allow me to introduce to you, the key players:

I *heart* Funfetti!

AFTER:

Some of the strawberries were bigger than the cupcakes themselves!

(With all those strawberries, they’ve GOT to be good for you, right?!)

I based my mad scientist experiment off of this recipe from AllRecipes.com…enjoy! (Ok, looking back at the recipe, I realize I completely forgot about using any cream cheese…oops!)

Strawberry Confetti Cupcakes

1 package Funfetti Cake Mix I just love the little flecks of color in the batter – It’s like a little fiesta in a bowl.

1/3 c. Vegetable Oil

3 eggs

2 c. frozen, lightly sweetened strawberries (pureed)

****

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix cake, vegetable oil, eggs, and strawberries together in a bowl. Mix. Mix. Mix.

Find some really cute cupcake liners. Mine were supposed to be for Easter (they’ve got bunnies on the bottom of them), but I kinda forgot about them until about 30 minutes ago.

Scoop batter into the liners – I tried to fill them about 3/4 full.

Bake for 27 minutes. Bake. Bake. Bake. (Seriously…they took a while. They probably could’ve baked longer, but I got antsy.)

Let cool. Then frost. I got real fancy and dyed the tub of store-bought frosting with green food coloring. Don’t judge me for using frosting from a can – it’s a Sunday night.

PS – When is frosting, frosting? And icing, icing? Do you frost a cake with frosting, or frost a cake with icing? And why am I still sitting here having this debate when I should be headed to the kitchen to get another cupcake?!

