Tags

, , , ,

Although we’re currently experiencing unseasonably cool weather in Dallas at the moment, I decided I’d try to get ready for summer by making a yummy healthy snack for us to enjoy this weekend.

Again, I found a recipe, but didn’t really listen to it…this could be why my cooking adventures don’t turn out exactly as expected more than half the time, but apparently my cooking slip ups haven’t stopped me!

I remember making homemade popsicles when I was younger. It was always so much fun and so much yummier than store-bought brands. Of course, as a child, the hardest part was waiting for them to freeze. (Oh, who am I kidding, as a “grown up,” that’s still the hardest part!)  I used watermelon and cantaloupe because that’s what I had at the house, but this recipe was so easy, I bet you could try a bunch of different fruits, depending on what you’re in the mood for.

Enjoy!

Watermelon Cantaloupe Pops

(I made 8 pops with this recipe, and even ended up having some juice leftover.)

Cut up one small-ish, seedless watermelon into cubes. Place cubes into blender or food processor and blend until smooth.

Strain watermelon juice into a really cute pitcher. You’ll probably need to use the back of a spoon to push the juice through the strainer.

I think watermelon juice is the *perfect* shade of pink!

Pour watermelon juice into ice pop molds until they are about halfway full.

Place molds in freezer for about an hour…maybe even an hour and a half.

In the meantime, cut up one cantaloupe into cubes and blend in blender or food processor until smooth.

I'd also recommend "stealing" a few pieces to eat while you wait...YUMMM!

Strain juice into another cute pitcher and use spoon again to make sure you get every. last. drop. I added a small splash of orange juice to make it a little tangier.

Once watermelon mixture is almost completely frozen, fill the rest of each mold with the cantaloupe juice mixture, secure handle and place back in the freezer for a few hours. (I recommend running errands, cleaning (BLEH) or going to the gym so you’ll be distracted…remember that old adage, “a watched pop, never freezes”? It’s true…so get out of the house and go do something while you wait.)

To remove pops from molds, run warm water along outside of mold to loosen and enjoy!

yummm!

Extra Bonus:

With the extra watermelon juice, I went ahead and used our Fred Cool Shooters Shot Glass molds to make some watermelon shot glasses…because you never know when you’ll need them. If you have some extra ice cube trays lying around, why not use the extra juice to make some yummy-flavored ice cubes to add to your water, or maybe even an adult beverage spritzer, once the weather warms up??

