Tags

, , , , ,

The hubby has been on a healthy-eating kick lately and I thought I’d share one of his “non-protein-shake” recipes. Funny enough, I used to be the healthy eater between the two of us, as a temporary vegetarian and even dabbling in veganism for a time (is that even a word?!), but he has definitely taken the cake cookie on this one. (Who am I kidding? He won’t touch sweets…)

I believe the origins of this recipe came from one of his best friends, but I’m pretty sure tortillas are on the *naughty* list, so I’m not quite sure this constitutes plagiarism.

Four-Ingredient* Chicken Enchilada Tacos

Key Ingredient:

Yum!

Other Ingredients:

2-3 Skinless Chicken breasts

1 cup(-ish) of chopped onions

Tortillas

Guacamole (optional)…which is the reason for the asterisk, but really…this should be required. I. Love. Guac.

(NOTE: If you don’t know how to make guac, find an avocado. Slice in half, remove the pit, and scoop out that green, yummy goodness. Mash it. Add onions and fresh lime juice. Bada. Bing.)

****

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Line baking dish with aluminum foil – so you don’t have to do as much scrubbing afterwards.

Place chicken breasts on baking dish and drizzle a little olive oil on top…just a little.

Bake chicken for 20-23 mins. (Slice into it to make sure it’s not pink in the middle.)

Transfer chicken to a casserole dish, and start shredding. (I’ve found using two forks and pulling the chicken apart works well.)

Mix in enchilada sauce. (I’d actually recommend heating the sauce up beforehand. The hubby heats it in a saucepan…I just zap it in the microwave.)

Add onions.

Stir. Stir. Stir.

Voila! You’re done…well, almost.

Take a tortilla…add chicken mixtures…add some guac…then add a little more…

To be honest, I only eat the tacos so I can eat the guac...

Bon apetite-o.

