Tags

, , , ,

I finished my book club “assignment” early this month, so I decided to pick up one of the hubby’s books lying around the house to keep me occupied. The book, The Year of Living Biblically, is a chronicle of one New Yorker’s “attempt to obey the Bible as literally as possible for one full year.”

His goal is to gain insight into religion (specifically, Judeo-Christian beliefs) by following the rules prescribed in both the Old and New Testaments. While one can argue his theology – or lack thereof – it’s been an interesting read and I’ve enjoyed his honest perspective in his writing.

As I started the book, I came across a quote that I thought would just fit *perfectly* in this post, but alas, I didn’t mark it and can’t find it. Still, I think the below (paraphrased) passage provides a brief snapshot into the author’s year-long journey:

[The author is talking with one of his religious advisors, Mr. Berkowitz, who has just examined Jacobs’ wardrobe to see what articles of clothing are “off limits,” according to Leviticus 19:19 – “Do not wear clothing woven of two kinds of material.”]

Before Mr. Berkowitz leaves, I ask him the obvious staring-us-in-the-face question: Why? Why would God care if we wore mixed fibers?

The answer is: We don’t know. …

“This is a law that God gave us. We have to trust Him. He’s all-powerful. We’re like children. Sometimes parents have laws children don’t understand. Like when you tell a child not to touch fire, he doesn’t understand why, but it is good for him.”

– A.J. Jacobs, The Year of Living Biblically

I am still only about eight “months” into his year, and he has yet to address any New Testament laws (he’s saving those for the last four months) so I’m interested to see how that goes.

(c) A. J. Jacobs, Simon & Schuster Paperbacks

