Tags

, , , , ,

I am a big fan of what I like to call “dummy books.” What’s that, you ask? You know…those books that can be read using absolutely no brain waves and are always prime candidates for reading by the pool with a frozen adult beverage in one hand, book in the other.

By no means am I saying that Evanovich is a “dummy” writer…in fact, I’d argue the opposite. It takes a certain skill to write in such a way that forces me to forego sleep just so I can find out what shenanigans her main character, Stephanie Plum, can get herself into. I think it’s her characters, really, that draw me in.

If you have spent any time with me, you’d find that I am a much bigger bad-a$$ in my mind, than in real life. (Read my Body Combat adventures for evidence.) If you ask me what I want to be when I grow up, I’d tell you it’s a mix between Sydney Bristow and Jason Bourne. Oh…Jason Bourne. (Coincidentally, “Bourne Ultimatum” is on the TV as I write this.)

However, in real life, I think I’d be much more of a Stephanie Plum – Evanovich’s bumbling idiot (but very lucky) of a bounty hunter with a penchant for driving violations – minus the multiple lovers, of course.

If you’re looking for an easy summer read or two (or sixteen), I’d HIGHLY recommend Evanovich’s series. Start with “One for the Money.” Sure, you’d be able to pick up on the plot lines if you started in the middle, but they’re all so entertaining, you won’t want to miss a single one.

