Tags

, , , ,

Back on My Feet!

Get it? It's a foot!

First, I’d like to give a special “thank you” shout out to my beautiful friend, Becky, for calling me out on not blogging in WAY TOO LONG. Although, as she also pointed out…I’ve been very NOT lazy over the past couple weeks, as the hubby and I have moved into a new place. Yes, that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

Anyways, Back on My Feet is a national organization that uses running as a tool to teach critical work and life skills like including discipline, team work, and self esteem to individuals currently experiencing homelessness.  I’ve only been a team member for about a month, but already feel a part of something pretty cool.

Here’s how it works: each Monday, Wednesday and Friday, three teams across Dallas meet at The Salvation Army, Dallas LIFE, and The Bridge (<—my team!) at 5:45 a.m. to run the streets of Dallas. Yes, it’s early…and yes, it’s running…but where else can you be guaranteed about 17 different bear hugs, all before the sun comes up? You see, they’re big on hugging at Back on My Feet…and I mean BIG. Sure, they “warn” you at orientation, “Hey guys, we’re huggers,” they say. And you think to yourself, “Yeah yeah…I’m sure I’ll get one, two, or maybe three, (tops!) over the course of a month. Nope. Not even close. I literally step out of my car into a circle of hugs. I gotta be honest – it’s a great way to start your day. No one cares if my mascara is smudged. No one cares if my socks don’t match. No one cares if I forget to put on deodora…ok, yes, yes they do because that’s. just. gross. What EVERYONE does care about is the success of their teammates. And supporting each other’s goals…whether it’s to run a mile that morning, or move to their own place that month.

But Back on My Feet isn’t just about running…or hugging…when they’re not lacing up their tennies, team members attend financial literacy classes, career fairs and classes to gain other skills that will not just get them back on their feet…they’ll stay them on their feet…which to me, is the ultimate runner’s high.

Learn more here.

