Tags

, , , ,

In honor of National Ice Cream Month (yet another reason to love Reagan!), I thought it was a good idea to whip out the ol’ ice cream maker. I remember making ice cream as a little girl with my mom and dad in a legit hand-crank, rock salt wooden ice cream maker, and it was delicious. Times have changed slightly, as the hand-crank has made way to literally, the touch of a button, but I’m optimistic it will be just as yummy!

I pulled the recipe from the instruction manual from the ice cream maker, but there were tons of other great-looking recipes over at Real Simple’s Simply Stated – Ice Cream Social.

*Note: You have to let the “freezer bowl” freeze for 6 hours before you even begin. I didn’t realize that, which is why I’m making them today and not on Sunday, which was apparently “National Ice Cream Day.”*

Simple Strawberry Ice Cream

You’ll Need:

1 pint fresh, ripe strawberries, stemmed & sliced (I actually think you only need half.)

3 T. freshly squeezed lemon juice

1 c. sugar, divided (Again, I think you only need about 1/2-3/4 c. TOTAL)

1 c. whole milk

2 c. heavy cream

1 t. vanilla extract

Here we go:

Remove stems and slice strawberries.

Really wish I had one of these from Williams Sonoma right about now!

Gently stir in lemon juice and 1/3 c. sugar in with strawberries. Let macerate in the juices for 2 hours. (Yeah, that lasted maybe 45 mins in my case.)

Warning...these are SUPER sweet. I'd cut back on the sugar a bit.

In a medium bowl, use a hand mixer (or whisk if you’re really strong) to combine milk and rest of the sugar (that’s 2/3 c. for you communications majors out there) until sugar dissolves. Stir in heavy cream, plus any juices from strawberries and vanilla. (Don’t add berries yet.) Turn machine on and our mixture into freezer bowl through the ingredient spout and let mix until thickened. (About 25-30 mins) Add sliced strawberries during the last 5 minutes of freezing…I added mine in at minute 20.

So the ice cream kinda started to overflow...I'm not sure if it was supposed to or not, but I swear I followed instructions. (For once!)

EAT!

I LOVE ice cream!

PS – I read in some blogs that people mix a teaspoon of liquor in with the ice cream before they store it in the freezer to keep it from turning rock solid. I tried it…we’ll see how it works out for me.

