Tags

, , , , , ,

Though the hubby and I are Texas transplants, it did not take us long to adopt a tremendous affection for all things Tex-Mex. (Ok, I must confess, it wasn’t until the past year that I discovered the green goodness that is guacamole, and I still haven’t figured out how I went more than a quarter of a century without it, but we’ll save that for my therapist another post.)

My mother-in-law actually introduced me to this recipe, but, in true lazy housewife fashion, I decided to go off memory and make it up as I go along. Fingers crossed! In addition to being a great recipe to serve a crowd (we usually have it with all the cousins when we go home for the holidays), this also makes for EXCELLENT leftovers…and don’t some people say pork is kinda healthy??

Easy, Cheesy Shredded Pork Tacos

I start by trying to trim some of the fat off the pork butt. (If it were only that easy in “real life”, right?!?!)

Then, I chop up some onions.

And put the pork in an oven bag and place it in the crockpot.

I promise it looks yummier cooked!!

I load up the pork derriere with chili powder and then place the onions on top before tying the bag.

Fill the crock pot so there’s about an inch of water around the pork bag, and then make a few slits in the top of the bag to let the steam escape.

I’m sure recipe gives you a particular amount of time, but I usually just set it on low before I leave for work in the morning and let it be.

Crockpots are pretty incredible...I'd go so far to say they are the ultimate "lazy housewife" accessory!

After work, figure out how to get the pork out of the bag and back into the crockpot without afflicting third-degree burns on yourself from the steam… and shred. The pork will be so tender, it’ll fall RIGHT off the bone, and you should be able to just pull it apart with two forks. (If you’re following the recipe above, be sure to listen to the instructions about draining out some of the juice or it’ll be WAY too soggy.)

Add in your salsa. I actually used Green Chile Enchilada Sauce because I didn’t have salsa in the pantry. (And I call myself a Texan?!?!)

Then, I set it on high and go to the gym.

It’ll be ready to eat when you get home – let the taco goodness begin!

