Tags

, , ,

A few weeks ago, I attended a grand opening celebration of the new RunOn! store here in Dallas and had the yummiest, post-run breakfast I’ve had in quite some time…Swiss Oatmeal! Since then, I’ve been trying to find a recipe to recreate it for an easy on-the-go breakfast to eat at work. And I’ve gotta be honest, after my success this morning, I think my days of a bagel and cream cheese every morning may be over. This was SUCH an easy, yummy, and (although I haven’t added up the calories yet) healthy breakfast, I may start making it in bulk! I think it’s the perfect summer treat because you actually eat it…COLD! (It sounded weird to me too, but give it a try – you just might like it!)

Swiss Texas Summer Oatmeal 

1 c. Oatmeal (A lot of the recipes I saw recommended steel cut. I only had “quick oats” and it seemed to work just fine.)

1/2 c. skim milk, plus a little extra “spash” at the end!

Light yogurt, ladies’ choice on flavor. (I used “Light and Fit” Vanilla.)

1/2 handful of craisins

1 handful of chopped apples…chop ’em up good

The night before, pour 1/2 c. milk over the oatmeal in an airtight container. Seal and stick in the fridge.

The next morning, depending on how gooey the oatmeal is, splash a little extra milk over it and stir.

Throw in the craisins and chopped apples and stir again.

I promise...it's delicious!

Ok…now, the fun part. Add about half of the oatmeal mixture to about 1/2 – 1 c. of yogurt.

Stir again, and there you have it: Texas Summer Oatmeal!!

 

 

 

