Tags

, , ,

Not to sound too cliche, but I’ve always believed, “When life hands you rotten bananas…MAKE BANANA BREAD!”

I used to have an incredible banana bread recipe I’d turn to whenever we had those over-ripe bananas laying around, but I couldn’t find it this afternoon. Not to worry, my friends, thanks to the Junior League of Greater Ft. Lauderdale’s “Made in the Shade” cookbook, I found a recipe fit for a captain…Captain Jack Sparrow, that is. Main ingredient (besides the bananas, of course)??:

The run is gone...Why is the rum gone?

RUM!

So, without further delay:

Jack Sparrow’s Banana Bread (Technically known as, “Lin’s Tropical Banana Bread.”)

1 1/2 c. sugar

1/2 c. vegetable oil

1/4 c. dark rum

2 ripes bananas, mashed

2 eggs

1 T. milk

1 t. vanilla extract

1 3/4 c. flour

2 T. dry buttermilk blend (I wasn’t sure what this was, so I used Bisquick)

1 t. baking soda

1/2 t. salt

1/4 finely grated coconut

Rum Glaze

Combine the sugar, oil, rum, bananas, eggs, milk and vanilla in a mixer bowl. In separate bowl, mix flour, buttermilk blend, baking soda and salt. Add flour mixture to banana goodness and mix just until moistened. Spoon into 5×9-inch loaf pan and sprinkle with coconut. (If you like nuts, add chopped walnuts and/or pecans on top as well.)  Bakc at 325 degrees for 45 minutes. Remove from pan and drizzle with Rum Glaze. (Recipe below.)

Rum Glaze

1/4 c. sugar

2 T. butter

2 T. water

1/4 c. dark rum

Combine first three ingredients in saucepan. Bring to boil and add rum. Boil for 5 minutes.

