Tags

, , , , ,

I think the most challenging part about cooking is simply deciding what you’re going to make for dinner on any given day. I don’t want to stay I’m in a rut, but I’m pretty sure 8 times out of 6, I’m baking chicken and garlic bread for dinner. Thank goodness for my husband’s smart-a$$ charmingly playful ways. Tonight, I asked him what I should make for dinner. His response, “Pasta Fazouli.” Do you know what happens when you search for pasta fazouli on Epicurious? Absolutely nothing. Squat. It doesn’t exist…that is, until tonight!

I started off with some ground sirloin. Added some frozen spinach. Boiled some pasta. Added some ricotta cheese, sauce and shredded cheese. And, voila! I present you…Pasta Fazouli!

So...I forgot to take a pic before the hubby dug in...oops!

Recipe:

1 lb ground beef

1 bag frozen spinach

1 15-oz container of ricotta cheese

1 bag/box of pasta (I like to use the swirly kind because I think it’s more fun)

1 jar of spaghetti sauce

2 handfuls of shredded cheese

Brown the ground beef in a skillet. Add spaghetti sauce and simmer for about five minutes. (I just did this first and let it simmer while I cooked everything else.) Cook frozen spinach and pasta (separately) according to package instructions. In large mixing bowl combine beef mixture, pasta, spinach and ricotta cheese. Transfer to large casserole dish and sprinkle shredded cheese on top. Bake in oven at 35o degrees for about 10 minutes, or until cheese is melted.

