Tags

, , ,

I gotta be honest…I’m pretty sure it’s safe for kids…but what better excuse NOT to have to share than, “Sorry kiddo, this has grown-up juice in it; no bites for you!”

Under my mom’s careful supervision (this is a treat she’s known for in our family), I attempted to recreate her yummy dessert to serve at Christmas dinner. (And I am now trying to find another excuse/opportunity/random Tuesday to make it again.) My mom has an entire cookbook dedicated to Amaretto…I may be stealing borrowing it the next time we’re in Delaware.

Amaretto Cake

1 c           butter or margarine
2 1/2 c     sugar
6 eggs      (room temperature)
1 t each   vanilla, orange and lemon extracts
2 t           almond extract
1/4 t        baking soda
1/2 t        salt
1 c           sour cream
3 c           sifted cake flour (I used regular flour.)
1/2 c        Amaretto di Saronno

Beat butter and sugar till creamy.  Add eggs one at a time (beating well after each egg).  Add sour cream; beat, then add extracts, baking soda, salt.  Gradually beat in flour then add Amaretto and beat well.  Pour into greased bundt pan.

Bake at 325 degrees 1 hour, 15 min, or until done.  Serves 10-12

Amaretto Glaze (optional)

1 jar (10 oz) orange marmalade
1/2 jar (5 oz) apricot preserves
1/4 c Amaretto di Saronno

Heat over stove until melted.
Drizzle on cooled cake and enjoy!

