Tags

, ,

One of our goals this year is to eat healthier…and cook more meals at home. Boy, oh boy, have we been quite successful so far – all three days of 2012. I think what I need to realize is that cooking a meal doesn’t have to be a big, overwhelming project of recipes, spices I’ve never heard of, and “little baby chickens on their little baby plates and an endive salad,” (not that there’s anything wrong with that!). For us to be successful in this, it’s going to take some planning i.e. remembering to take the meat out to defrost it earlier than 15 minutes before I want to start cooking, but it will also take me realizing that throwing some chicken in a pan with pre-made taco seasoning counts too. Tonight, we made what I’d like to call:

Chicken AND the Egg(s)

First, we cut up some onions, chicken and turkey sandwich meat. (Probably not the best idea to use deli meat if you’re concerned about sodium, but again, it doesn’t have to be perfect.)

I threw the onions in the pan to saute them a little on the stove to soften them up. Then, we whisked 6 eggs and one egg white (not sure why, but the darling hubby was in charge of this so I didn’t ask) with a little bit of milk and poured it in the pan. We let the eggs cook a little bit, using the spatula to keep them moving so they didn’t stick to the bottom of the pan, then added the chicken and turkey.

Of course, shredded cheese makes everything better so I added some nacho/taco mix at the very end before scooping it onto our plates and scarfing it down.

Nothing fancy, but it sure was delicious!!

