Tags

, , , ,

We recently joined a new health club, and even though I was a member at my previous gym for about five years, I’m hoping to use this as an opportunity to get excited about fitness again and get back into some of those good habits I had a few years ago.

In addition to actually going to the gym to work out, I’m *trying* to make better food choices to make sure my body will have the fuel I need to get through the day. And while my favorite breakfast at work is a bagel from the deli downstairs, I know that unless I start training for a marathon, it’s probably better to focus on protein rather than mini carbo-loading each morning to then sit in front of my computer for several hours.

Enter, the Strawberry Banana Smoothie…easy, portable, and DE-lish!

You’ll need:

About 6-8 frozen strawberries.

3/4 c. low-fat vanilla yogurt. (I really like “Light and Fit” because it’s still sweet but just more than 100 calories per cup.)

A swig of orange juice or water.

1 scoop of Spiru-Tein® Banana Protein powder.

Blend in a blender until smooth and enjoy.

As far as nutrition content goes…by my non-scientific calculations (and IF you trust my math), I think this gives you about 20 g. of protein, LOTS of other vitamins and minerals, all for probably around 300 calories.

I’ve just started testing out protein powders and like the Spiru-Tein® so far. They’ve got TONS of flavors and seem to blend well in the smoothies.

 

