Tags

, , , ,

If you ask my husband, he’ll tell you I’ve got the throw-random-spices-on-two-chicken-breasts-and-bake-at-400 move down pat. What I have yet to master is thinking about anything OTHER than the chicken, i.e. the sides, and more specifically, the vegetables, when cooking meals for the two of us.

I’m so grateful that my parents “taught” me to like fruits and veggies as a child. I grew up loving baked apples, strawberries, bananas, green beans and yes, even brussel sprouts. And still, when I cook dinner at night, I typically forget about all the delicious options veggies can bring to the table (pun always intended) until it’s too late.

Tonight, however, I turned a corner…and so, I present to you:

Citrus Dijon Green Beans (based off this recipe from Whole Foods)

You’ll need:

1 16-oz bag of frozen green beans

Juice from 1 navel orange

1 1/2 t. dijon mustard

1/4 t. sea salt

1/4 c. honey roasted almonds (those sliced almonds that come in a bag to put on top of salads)

Cook the green beans according to instructions on the package. In the meantime, squeeze the orange with all your might, shooting to get about 1/3 cup of juice. Add the mustard and salt and wisk together. (Tip: To save on dishes, I just mixed everything in the liquid measuring cup.)Once the green beans are cooked and drained, pour the citrus mixture over the beans and sprinkle with almonds.

That’s it…Enjoy!

