Tags

, , , ,

Does anyone else rip recipes, decorating ideas and exercise plans out of magazines, only to find them 7 months later at the bottom of some purse you’re fairly certain you haven’t carried in 2 years? Yeah. Me neither.

Don’t get me wrong…I L-O-V-E getting cooking and decorating magazines. I L-O-V-E looking for recipes and dreaming about what new dish I’ll try next weekend. I even L-O-V-E making the shopping list for the recipes I find. And then, I forget the list at home, I lose the recipe, or I decide it’s every man for himself and make a bowl of cereal.

Last night, however, was different. I started off the afternoon somehow managing to screw up a pot roast in a crock pot. Ridiculous, I know. Determined to redeem myself, I decided I would try out a fancy “magazine” recipe. Enter, Every Day with Rachel Ray. My husband said it was the best thing I have ever made…of course, I had already set the expectations so low by ruining my first recipe, there was really no where to go but up. I thought it was pretty good myself and fairly manageable. Let me know what you think.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Chicken Stuffed with Herb Ricotta

You’ll need:

1/2 c. ricotta cheese

3 T. parmesan cheese

1 small clove garlic (I forgot this part)

1 T. parsley

3-4 fresh basil leaves, chopped

1 t. thyme

Boneless skinless chicken breast (the recipe called for 4 small…I used 2 large and had enough stuffing…just had to use two pieces of prosciutto to wrap it, which was A-Okay with me!)

Thinly-sliced prosciutto (1-2 per breast)

A splash of white wine

1 T. butter

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a bowl, mix ricotta with herbs, garlic and parmesan cheese. Spoon cheese mixture onto chicken breasts and roll/fold over. Wrap prosciutto around each breast and secure with a toothpick.

Drizzle olive oil in oven-proof skillet and heat to medium-high. Cook chicken about 2-3 minutes each side until slightly browned. Transfer skillet to oven and cook for 12-15 minutes.

Remove chicken from pan. (IMPORTANT: Use gloves, pot holders, etc. The pan will be HOT and will leave blisters on your hand should you try to grab it upon leaving the oven…not that I’m speaking from experience.) Deglaze the pan with a splash of white wine. I gotta be honest – I’m not really sure what this means, but I just poured some wine in the pan and scraped off the yummy stuff that had stuck to the pan during baking. Stir butter into the sauce and spoon over the chicken before serving.

I also made these zucchini chips that I found on Pinterest. They were pretty good,  but I’d probably use regular flour next time…or none at all. The hubby loved them, which surprised me slightly. I’m not really sure what “clean eating” means, but I’m fairly certain I’m against it.

 

